Board of Supervisors Elections

South Indian River Water Control District (SIRWCD) was established as a Special District in 1923. SIRWCD is organized and exists pursuant to Chapter 298, Florida Statutes, as amended and supplemented, and other applicable provisions of law, including a number of special acts of the Florida Legislature relating to the District, particularly Chapter 2001-313, Laws of Florida.


The District is governed by a five-member Board of Supervisors who serve three-year terms. Supervisors are elected by a vote of the landowners based on parcel acreage. All Supervisors must reside in Palm Beach County and must own land in the District. Current rules dictate that at least three Supervisors must reside in the District, with at least one Supervisor residing in the area east of the C-18 Canal and at least one residing in the area west of the C-18 Canal. One Supervisor must not be a resident of the District.


Ballots for the seats up for election are mailed out to landowners in early to mid-August each year and are due back to the District office by the third Thursday in September. A return envelope is included in the mailing. Landowners may also cast their ballot at the Annual Landowners Meeting, which also is held the third Thursday in September. Landowners whose District assessments are delinquent are not entitled to vote.


As specified in the District's Special Act, the ballots are counted and verified by the Palm Beach County Supervisor of Elections, who will certify the results.

Replacement, Lost or Damaged Ballots

Extra blank ballots are printed and numbered and kept locked at the District’s office for replacement purposes.


If a ballot envelope is returned by the Post Office, the District makes every effort to re-mail those ballots to the current owner by using information provided on the Property Appraiser’s website. If the website shows a new owner from that on the original mailing list, the new information is typed onto a blank ballot and mailed. A log of new owners is kept and sent to the Supervisor of Elections. All other envelopes are filed alphabetically and stored in a locked cabinet.


When a landowner calls to request a ballot due to it being misplaced, lost or never received, we verify ownership (Property Appraiser’s website), then we check the box of returned ballots, and if not found, we ask the owner to bring photographic identification to the District office to pick up a replacement ballot. If the owner has recently purchased the property and the Property Appraiser's website has not been updated, we ask the owner to bring proof of ownership as well (deed or tax bill). The District keeps a log of all replacement ballots given. Landowners who request a replacement ballot are notified that the first ballot received in their name is the ballot that is counted and that all further inquiries should be directed to the District office or attorney – not to the Supervisor of Elections.



Wendy Sartory Link, as Supervisor of Elections for Palm Beach County, has certified on September 24, 2020 that the following record of the votes cast in the SOUTH INDIAN RIVER WATER CONTROL DISTRICT, ELECTION OF SUPERVISOR received on September 21, 2020 is correct according to records on file in the Supervisor of Elections Office:


Thomas Powell - 735 ballots - 1,140 votes

Write-In - 10 ballots - 12 votes


The Board of Supervisors ratified the certified South Indian River Water Control District election results at their October 15, 2020 meeting. Thomas Powell was sworn in by the District's Attorney, William Capko. Stephen Hinkle was named President, Thomas Powell as Vice President and Jane Woodward as Secretary. In addition, the following appointments were made to the committees - Thomas Powell and John Jones as Chairs of the Budgeting Committee; John Meyer as Communications Committee Chair; John Jones as Parks, Recreation and Water Committee Chair; and John Meyer and Michael Howard as Policies and Procedures Committee Chairs.


If you have any questions contact the District office at 561-747-0550.


Mr. Powell has signed the Oath of Candidate, which states he will resign from office within 30 days if his residency changes and causes the District's Board of Supervisors to no longer be in compliance with Chapter 2001-313, Laws of Florida.